The Daily Whatup!

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Shoes are Cars

So I was watching a video the other day, and one of the interviewees put things into persepective for me.

Justin Furman, from sneaker mecca Dave’s Quality Meat in New York, said it perfectly.

Growing up in the suburbs for me, kids had cars.  And if you got a car, you hooked up your car.  That was your identity.  In the city, nobody’s got a car, so it’s like boom…these are your cars…and you’re trying to get recognized.”

*Go to 6:00 mark if you want to get to quote easily

When I lived in New York, I was somewhat of a sneakerhead.  I mean I wasn’t a true head because I only had 20 pairs, and trues have 100+ and pay serious dollars.  I definitely had a great appreciation for a nicely designed pair of sneakers.  Since moving out to LA, I don’t even wear sneakers any more.  I wear them occasionally from time to time when I feel like I’m neglecting them, otherwise it’s Rainbows or Chucks.  I didn’t realize it until I saw this video and Justin Furman said it perfectly.

I now realize why sneaker love in LA is not quite on the same level as it is in NY.  In LA, your car is how you represent and express yourself.  It’s definitely a status symbol, whether it’s luxury or custom, it says quite a bit about you.  In NY city, people don’t have cars.  Their shoes get them from place to place, so people invest and express who they are through their shoes.

So what do your shoes say about you?

TOMS – casual and concerned about giving back

Wingtips – classic, traditional, and a touch of conservative

Prada – metro and some might think a bit “suspect”

Rainbows – live in a beach community

Converse Chuck Taylors aka Chucks – alternative and/or liberal

DC Shoes or Vans – skateboarder or living the lifestyle

Christian Louboutin – famous for the red shoe sole says the wearer spent a ton of money for those shoes

Nike Vintage sneakers (AirForce1, Dunks, Jordans, etc.) – potential sneakerhead

BAPE – not as much any more, but at one time it meant you are a sneakerhead with money

The list could go on and on.  Shoe companies know this, and market themselves accordingly.  You guys should pay attention to what’s on your feet and what that is telling the world.  If nothing at all, know that women care about what’s on your feet, and so should you.

 

December 16, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

